Arizona State University, the University of Houston, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, Georgia Tech, Universidad Miguel Hernández de Elche, Spain, and Tecnológico de Monterrey, Mexico have a unique concentration of Principal Investigators (PI) who have the resources and expertise to design, develop, and test innovative neurotechnologies that can effectively transform the lives of physically and cognitively impaired individuals.

Our combined expertise covers the spectrum of mental, neural and physical disabilities across the human lifespan, from peripheral nerve implants and cortical arrays to assistive robotics, EEG, and other noninvasive solutions. Our collective research ranges in populations from pediatrics to the elderly, and technologies from peripheral nerve implants to deep brain stimulators and biosensors.

We include faculty working on the neural basis and engineering solutions for reach-and-grasp, standing, walking, and joint action, and we have ongoing activities in multiple scales of investigation (from single cells to system approaches), and capabilities in both human and non-human models.

Leveraging our expertise in neural engineering, clinical testing, mechatronics, and robotics, we will build a Center focused on cooperating with industrial partners, clinical partners, and federal agencies to accelerate the development, application, evaluation, and deployment of innovative neural technologies. We will focus on reducing the cost/benefit ratio of neural technologies broadly aimed at all levels of neural function and control, from homeostasis to consciousness. We will take a multi-scale, multi-modal, and multi-disciplinary approach to understanding all aspects of human neural function, and in using neurotechnologies in the treatment of human pathology.

To do this, we will partner with industry leaders in and clinical users of neurotechnology to:

Speed the rate at which new technologies are developed and empirically validated

Develop standards and test technologies in human and non-human models using a multi-scale approach, ranging from single neurons to organismal systems

Bring a range of methods for the characterization of technologies, employing novel biosensors and quantitative analyses of systems and behaviors

Evaluate the impact of specific technologies on quality of life

Maintain a conscious focus on reducing the cost/benefit ratio of neural technologies

Select individual sites to see site-specific faculty or select multiple sites to see faculty from multiple locations

Research Areas


Filter by name

Peter Konrad
Ricardo Ambrocio Ramírez Mendoza
Stephen Helms Tillery
Selcuk Candan
Sandeep Gupta
Baoxin Li
Mohamed Sarwat
James Abbas
Claire Honeycutt
Jeffrey Kleim
Thurmon Lockhart
Jennifer Blain Christen
Michael Goryll
Bradley Greger
Vikram Kodibagkar
Hyunglae Lee
Jiming Bao
Rosalind Sadleir
William (Jamie) Tyler
Christopher Buneo
Jennifer Kitchen
Jennie Si
Sarah Stabenfeldt
Troy McDaniel
Jitendran Muthuswamy
Xin Fu
Cameron Buckner
Heather Dial
Ioannis Pavlidis
Adam Thrasher
Peter Konrad
Ramana Vinjamuri
Wendy Johnson
Yingchun Zhang
Wenlong Zhang
Cristina Rivera Garza
Saurabh Prasad
Olivera Nesic-Taylor
Steven Matijcio
Amaury Lendasse
Liz Yenny Fula Torrijos
Jeff Feng
Rose Faghih
Joel Carlos Huegel West
Luz María Alonso Valerdi
Belinda del Carmen Carrión Chavarría
Pedro Ponce Cruz
David Isaac Ibarra Zarate
Javier Mauricio Antelis Ortiz
Pedro Daniel Urbina Coronado
Hugo Gustavo González Hernández
Gerardo Presbítero Espinosa
Myriam Alanis Espinosa, PhD
Mauricio Adolfo Ramírez Moreno
Sergio Uribe Gutiérrez, PhD
Jorge de Jesus Lozoya Santos, Ph. D.
Enrique Barbieri
Aaron T. Becker
Stuart Long
Luca Pollonini
M. Carmen Acosta
Victor Meseguer
Juana Gallar
Mario Ortiz
Eduardo Iáñez
Jose M. Azorín
Vicente Micol Molina
María Herranz-López
José Antonio Encinar Hidalgo
Enrique Roche
Enrique Barrajón-Catalán
Diego Pastor Campos
Eduardo Cervelló Gimeno
Beom-Chan Lee
Kostas Tsakalis
Pranav Parikh
David Frakes
Cunjiang Yu
John Wolfe
Wei Shih
Francisco C. Robles Hernandez
Marco Santello
Stacey Gorniak
George Zouridakis
David Mayerich
Charles Layne
Zhu Han
Jose Luis Contreras-Vidal
Francisco Javier Moreno Hernández
Raúl Reina
Rafael Sabido Solana
David Barbado Murillo
Carla Caballero Sánchez
Alba Roldán Romero
Tomás Urbán Infantes